Godfrey Kelly And Andrew Ingraham Complete R E Cooper Awards List

GODFREY KELLY and Andrew Ingraham will be recognised by the R E Cooper Sr National Meritorious Service Awards next month.

Mr Kelly, appointed the first Bahamian Minister of Education in 1964, oversaw the building of four high schools and the implementation of major changes in the country’s educational system which are still in effect today. Mr Kelly was an Olympian and, in 2011, was inducted into the National Sports Hall of Fame.

Mr Ingraham was born in Nassau, where his family owned several businesses, including one in the travel industry.

He left the Bahamas to complete his secondary education in Miami, Florida, and stayed to begin his career in the travel and tourism industry in Fort Lauderdale.

He has played a pivotal role in bringing awareness to black owners in the hotel and tourism industry. The president of Horizons Marketing Group International, he founded the International Multicultural Tourism and Hotel Ownership Conference and was appointed to the National Tourism Advisory Committee for the NAACP.

Although Mr Ingraham lives in Fort Lauderdale with his family, his Bahamian roots allow him to look for opportunities for Bahamians in the industry, securing scholarships in the hospitality industry for Bahamians.

The awards - to be presented on October 29 at the Atlantis Ballroom, Paradise Island, recognise 22 of the most outstanding citizens for their contributions to the Bahamas.

R E Cooper Sr was an educator and wanted to see an educated Bahamas following Independence and the 2016 Awards honour those who have contributed to help through service.

BET Gospel sensation Bobby Jones will be the co-host of the event. World renowned priest Fr George Clements and Trumpet Awards Executive Producer and Founder Dr Xernona Clayton are featured speakers.

The full list of awardees comprises Commissioner Ellison Greenslade, Businessman and philanthropist Alphonso “Boogalo” Elliott, Pharmacist Clinton McCartney Sr, Financier James Schaeffer III, PHA Executive Herbert Brown, former Deputy Prime Minister Cynthia “Mother’ Pratt, Freedom Farm Founder Greg Burrows, College President of MTSU, Dr Sidney McPhee, former Trade Unionist Deglanville Panza, Insurance Executive Stephanie Hanna, Media Executive mogul Joan Albury, Businesswoman Elaine Pinder, Cultural and Junkanoo Leader Percy “Vola” Francis, Educator Dr Albert Ferguson, Accountant Basil Sands, Media personality Steve Mckinney, Businessman George Myers, Cultural Activists Raphael and Fred Munnings, Jr.

There are posthumous awards to Bismark Coakley and ‘King’ Eric Gibson.

For information visit www.recooperaward.com


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment